Eintracht Frankfurt won its second European title, after defeating its Scottish rival Glasgow Rangers in the European League final 5-4 after a 1-1 draw in the regular and extra time of the confrontation that took place at the Sanchez Piz Juan stadium on Wednesday evening, May 18 May in Seville, Spain.

This is the second European title in the history of the Frankfurt club, which previously won this tournament, but with its old name (European Union Cup) in the 1980/1979 season after beating his compatriot Borussia Monchengladbach (lost 2-3 away and winning 1-0) in the final round that It was held in two matches.

Eintracht Frankfurt became the third European club to win the European League title without losing, after Chelsea in the 2018/2019 season, and Villarreal in the 2021/2020 season.

Scottish goalkeeper Alan McGregor entered the history of European Championships after becoming the third oldest player to participate in a European Championship final at the age of (40 years and 107 days), after former Italian goalkeeper Dino Zoff (41 years and 86 days), and former Dutch goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar (40 years and 211 days), according to Opta network statistics.

The match was balanced, and caution prevailed over the performance of the two teams, especially in the first half, which ended in a 0-0 tie. In the second half, Nigerian Joe Aribo opened the scoring for Rangers at the 57th minute after taking advantage of a gag of French defender Almami Toure, who slipped on the ground, to single out the Rangers player. He puts the ball into the net with his left.

Colombian Rafael Buri equalized for Frankfurt in the 69th minute, after taking advantage of a cross he placed with his right hand in the box of Rangers, bringing the score (1-1) between the two teams. After Frankfurt’s equalizing goal, play was confined to the midfield, and there were no dangerous chances for the two goals, so the original time ended in a positive tie with a goal for the same, and the match extended to two additional periods.

During the second extra period, Frankfurt missed a dangerous opportunity through Croatian Philip Kostic after a powerful shot that went a little over the crossbar at the 115th minute, and two minutes later, German goalkeeper Kevin Trapp saved a certain one from the Englishman Ryan Kent, to keep the equalizer the master of the situation, and the penalty shootout is invoked.

Rangers had qualified for the final of the European League after beating Leipzig 3-2 on aggregate, while Frankfurt qualified for the final after defeating West Ham United by a total of 3-1.

Eintracht Frankfurt did not lose any meeting in the European League this season, and became only the third team to win the championship without being defeated, after Chelsea in 2018-19 and Villarreal in 2020-21, and its coach, Oliver Glasner, became the second Austrian coach to win a European title after the victory of the legend Ernst Hubble won the European Cup with Feyenoord of the Netherlands and Hamburg of Germany.

Frankfurt awaits Real Madrid or Liverpool in the European Super Cup

By winning the European League title, Eintracht Frankfurt qualified for the Champions League next season, bringing the number of German clubs participating in the continental championship next season to 5 clubs, after Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, Bayer Leverkusen and Leipzig booked their place by occupying the first four places in the German League. .

Frankfurt set a date with a dream of a new European crown, when it became the first party in the European Super Cup next season, where the winner of the European Champions League between Real Madrid and Liverpool will wait on Saturday (May 28) in the French capital, Paris.

Rangers defender James Tavarner topped the list of top scorers in the European League this season with 7 goals, and is the second defender to win the title of top scorer historically in European club competitions, after the Dutch Ronald Koeman in the 1993-94 season. On the contrary, Scotland remained without any European title. Since Aberdeen’s victory with coach Alex Ferguson over Real Madrid in the European Cup Winners’ Cup final in 1983.

The Bundesliga teams succeeded in winning 6 titles in the European League, all under the old name of the tournament, the “European Union Cup”, while the German teams lost 8 final matches. The Bundesliga clubs are the fourth most decorated club in the European League after Spain (13 titles), England (9 titles) and Italy (9 titles).

#Watch #German #Frankfurt #clinch #European #League #title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.