Lebanon elections..a new parliamentary map

The results of the Lebanese elections for 2022 produced a new parliamentary “map” and a different reality that will impose itself forcefully in the coming days, as Hezbollah and its allies lost the majority in the new parliament, according to the final results announced yesterday (Tuesday). Tehran-backed Hezbollah and its allies retained about 70 out of a total of 128 seats in the outgoing parliament, but the opposition lists emanating from the protest demonstrations against the ruling authority won at least 13 seats, including 12 new faces who would form with other deputies independent of the ruling party. Traditional parties united bloc in Parliament. The results reveal that the parliament will include competing blocs, none of which enjoys an absolute majority, which will make it more vulnerable to divisions, according to analysts.

The results showed that the new parliament will never be the same as its predecessor, especially with new forces and candidates seizing several seats from the quotas of traditional parties and candidates, and throughout regions and districts that were considered fortified fortresses of the ruling power parties, while prominent political figures and traditional leaders whose mandates spanned decades were defeated. The Lebanese Forces Party, led by Samir Geagea, made remarkable progress in return for the retreat of the Free Patriotic Movement headed by Gebran Bassil, President Michel Aoun’s son-in-law. The forces of change emanating from the October 17 revolution recorded violations that exceeded expectations and statistics prior to the elections, to achieve a balanced bloc that would mix alliances and position themselves in the new parliament.

The results showed that Hezbollah and its ally the Amal Movement, led by the outgoing Speaker of Parliament, Nabih Berri, won the seats allocated to the Shiite sect (27 seats), while their allies lost seats in several constituencies, according to international media. The most powerful blow to Hezbollah was that two candidates, one Orthodox and the other Druze, violated its lists in one of its strongholds in the southern border region, something that has not happened since 1992. It is not yet clear the final number of seats it will gather with its allies, but it will definitely not be able to reach 65 seats.

The Lebanese Forces Party won 18, the Free Patriotic Movement 18, the Progressive Socialist Party (Walid Jumblatt), 9 deputies, and the civil society lists 14. The Kataeb Party won 5 seats, the Tashnaq Party (Armenians) 3, the Islamic Charitable Projects Association 2, in addition to a number of Independent representatives who are not affiliated with parliamentary blocs.

Thus, Hezbollah and its main allies from the Amal Movement, the Free Patriotic Movement and the Marada Movement won about 58 seats. Observers expect the formation of 3 large blocs within the new parliament, bearing a clear project against Hezbollah and its weapons, which are: Civil Society Representatives: 14 MPs, opposition and independent MPs, including the Kataeb Party, the Independence Movement, and independent personalities such as Representative Neamat Afram and Jean Taluzian, which can exceed 10 deputies, the Lebanese Forces deputies with their allies Ashraf Rifi and Fouad Siniora, which amount to more than 20 deputies.

The Progressive Socialist Party bloc remains with 9 deputies, and it is also a fierce opposition to “Hezbollah”, but it has relations and agreements with the party’s ally, the Speaker of Parliament, Nabih Berri.

The elections witnessed the loss of Talal Arslan, a historical Druze leader, his seat, as was Faisal Omar Karami, son of the late Prime Minister Omar Karami, Deputy Speaker of Parliament Elie Ferzli, and the head of the Syrian Social Nationalist Party, Asaad Hardan, who has not left parliament since 1992. Saad Hariri lost by reluctance and boycott, The two presidents, Tammam Salam and Najib Mikati, in addition to the consistent face from 2005, MP Bahia Hariri. Eight women entered the council: Enaya Ezzedine (Amal Movement), Nada Al-Bustani (Free Patriotic Movement), Najat Khattar Aoun, Halima Al-Qaqour, Paula Yacoubian, Cynthia Zarazir (Civil Society), Strida Geagea and Ghada Ayoub (Lebanese Forces).

#Lebanon #electionsa #parliamentary #map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.